Home » My life » Greatness

Greatness

Please watch the video before proceeding 🙂

 

Greatness is something that many people believe is a gift bestowed on a select few. Take a minute to stop and consider what comes to your mind when you hear the word ‘greatness.’  What do you see, what do you hear?

I believe that all of us have the capacity to be great, the sheer fact that we are born, alive and walking this earth means that we have greatness within us.  The sad truth is that many of us will die not having tapped into that unique quality that makes us great and we will aimlessly go through life simply existing.

As a child I never thought there was anything particularly special about me, I was like every other child.  Now, I was never told that I wasn’t special but no one really made a great deal of effort to tell me I was either. Throughout school I had the mentality that I was just okay, I was average and that was evident in my school grades too.  It was only as I got older that I realised there is something uniquely special about me and I needed to find out what that was and go for it (I will share some more about this in another post).

I believe that so many of us do not walk in our full greatness because of our own lack of belief in the truth that we are actually great.  If we all lived up to our full potential can you imagine what we, our families and our world would look like?

The Oxford dictionary defines greatness as “the quality of being great; eminence or distinction.” My understanding of this is that when you live out your greatness something distinguishes you from everyone else.  There is an assurance, a certainty, a confidence in who you are that emanates from your being.  So many people and I feel women especially are afraid to live to their full potential; I too am one of those people, yes, even now.  I am afraid of my unique greatness being misunderstood, I fear that my greatness will not be valued and instead it will be rejected.  So how do I handle my fear? I realise I have two choices: 1) I shrink that innate quality to pacify others and to make them comfortable in my presence or 2) I shine and let my greatness come to the surface for the whole world to experience. I want to be an example of a woman that lets her greatness shine in spite of her fear.  You see greatness isn’t for the select few, it’s for the few who select it.

Remember: “Our greatest fear is not that we are inadequate our greatest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.”  This is an awesome fear to have if you are brave enough to share your unique greatness with the
world in the only way you can. So go and be great!!

2 thoughts on “Greatness

Leave a Reply

