Home » Other » 5ft 1 inch woman climbing Mount Snowdon

5ft 1 inch woman climbing Mount Snowdon

There are not many people that can say they have climbed a 3,560 ft mountain to fund their mission trip to Africa. Well, I will be able to say: ‘I have.’ Yes, I will be climbing Mount Snowdon, the biggest mountain in Wales, next month…eek :s lol.

snowdon      snow2

Now, please understand I am a small woman in height and weight; climbing mountains is not something that I do regularly, I am not a country girl (although I do appreciate the beautiful scenery it has to offer), If I have to walk it’s for fitness purposes only, definitely not as a leisure activity; not my kind of fun. However, for you outdoorsy people this is probably quite literally a walk in the park, but for me this is going to be a serious challenge. If you have read my ‘About me’ page my love of travelling is very real but I didn’t mention anything about mountain climbing. I DON’T CLIMB MOUNTAINS!

So, why on earth would I want to do this? Because I believe it is the right of every child to be educated regardless of their background or economic status. So, because I believe this, I am putting my belief into action and travelling to Uganda for 15 days to help build a school. Am I nervous? Absolutely! I have never been to Uganda before and the negative things you hear in the media definitely don’t help (whether it’s hyped nonsense or not). However, my conviction is so much stronger than my fear or home comforts that I know I will miss terribly lol.

rejuv2

 

I have always said and still believe that love and time are two of the most important things you can give away; neither of these you can get back. I have made the decision, that in 2014 I am going to be more deliberate and intentional with my time; this includes who I spend it with and what I do with it. Having the opportunity to travel and make a small difference in someone’s life is most definitely worth my time, love and energy. I have one life to live and I want to make that life count for something; if that means sacrificing my double bed, iPhone and car (ridiculous luxurious), for 15 days so be it. In the grand scheme of things it really isn’t a sacrifice, but I suppose the term sacrifice is subjective. Anyway, I have taken up the challenge and I’ve given my word and I am ready to climb this mountain…whooo :D.

If you would like to find out more information about my mission trip and the charity I am going with, please visit: http://www.rejuvenateworldwide.org.uk. If you would like to sponsor me to climb or make a donation to help send me to Uganda, please visit my giving page at: http://www.virginmoneygiving.com/leanciadonaldson

Thank you so much for your support!

Leancia x

3 thoughts on “5ft 1 inch woman climbing Mount Snowdon

  1. Lovely pictures, lovely act of kindness. I also really am moved by Nelson Mandela’s words about education. I used them as the first quote to set the tone on my own blog. I write about education. I was thinking you might really like my article today–as it talks about a powerful effect education can have on girls around the world. Anyway–thanks for this article and for your good work.

    • Hi Julie, thank you so much for visiting my blog. Your article sounds amazing, I’ll def have a read this evening with my cup of Earl Grey hehe :).

      Look out for my follow up of this post, which I’ll post on Saturday.

      Thanks again 🙂

  2. Pingback: Ooops I did it AGAIN! | One woman, many journeys

Leave a Reply

